50% Rule not working for me

13 Replies

Hi Everyone!  Newbie here...I am looking into Buy and Hold properties  and am trying to start with a single family house.  

I’ve been comparing House listing prices on Zillow and other websites with nearby rental rates for similar houses. When I do this, not a single property seems to meet the 50% rule in the DC suburbs (Maryland)...is that due to the location? The market? Or is it a problem with the way I am calculating things?  Maybe I just need more patience to find a deal?

Happy to be a part of this forum and to learn from you all.  Much thanks in advance. 

Originally posted by @Andy H. :

Hi Everyone!  Newbie here...I am looking into Buy and Hold properties  and am trying to start with a single family house.  

I’ve been comparing House listing prices on Zillow and other websites with nearby rental rates for similar houses. When I do this, not a single property seems to meet the 50% rule in the DC suburbs (Maryland)...is that due to the location? The market? Or is it a problem with the way I am calculating things?  Maybe I just need more patience to find a deal?

Happy to be a part of this forum and to learn from you all.  Much thanks in advance. 

The 50% rule is really only applicable in sub 100k properties.  It is not a rule to be used for all property types and locations. 

Thanks for your help Brie. Is there another quick rule of thumb that I can use instead to help me with >100k SFH properties? Want to be able to rule out bad deals quickly and potentially rule in other deals for a more detailed analysis.