Is it more about Quality or Quantity? - Real Estate Investing

26 Replies

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie and excited to start my real estate journey. My goal for real estate investing is purely cash flow. 

I'm looking to purchase my first rental property in 2019 and was wondering if I should focus on purchasing many properties that bring me a below average cash flow or buying few properties that give me a GOOD cash flow. 

I plan to buy 1 GOOD property per year but was wondering if I should focus on buying fair properties that bring an below-average cash flow. (My goal is to get at least $500 a month cash-flow on a good property, is this realistic? What are your goals for cash-flow properties?) 

Thanks in advance for your responses!

I would let the deal you find dictate what it is good for. Keep an open mind let it tell you what it can do for you. Good deals are not that easy to come by. 

Id take higher cash flowing properties in a better neighborhood all day. Even if it meant half the properties.

This is also because these types of rentals are more local to me, so I can minimize the maintenance and management expenses by doing it myself. 

Right now, its critical that I get the most return on my cash. So I shoot for cash flow and appreciation. 

Hi Andres,

You want quality vs quantity for sure.  Quality will have better tenants, fall in a better area, and will be more stable.  Now quality will not necessarily mean a higher cash on cash.  Usually, it is the opposite. A better property will have less cash flow because of the higher cost of acquisition.  The goal is to find the sweet spot where you can maximize cash flow with quality.  For each investor, the sweet spot is different based on how they view what quality is.