Pay off student loan right now... or buy first property?

50 Replies

Hello Everybody! My name is Drew Roqué, 22 years old, and I am aspiring to be financially independent! I graduated from a Maritime Academy with a 3rd Mate’s License and I am now working for a shipping company. To make a long story short, I am able to pay off all my student loans ($30,000) in about 4 months. I was wondering if I would be better off paying off my student loan as soon as I can... or pay the monthly payments on them and instead use the saved money to conduct my first BRRRR method. Let me know what you think and why! Thanks!
Originally posted by @Drew A Roque :
@Caleb Heimsoth Thanks! I read your profile... how did you first start?

I saved for 10 months and educated myself md bought an out of state single family rental in memphis (while living in Dallas).  That was almost 2 years ago 

@Caleb Heimsoth I’m also looking to rent out of state. Do you mind if I personal message you? I want to know what it was making your first deal and what it’s like working with another partner.
@Caleb Heimsoth I’m also looking to rent out of state. Do you mind if I personal message you? I want to know what it was making your first deal and what it’s like working with another partner.

Sure feel free to message me.  I started alone but I have a business partner now. 

I've seen a few posts here on BP about this subject and it seems like people's responses show that it really is all dependent upon your situation.  Some people respond with just focus on paying off your debt and then get into investing. Others suggest buying an asset who's cash flow will cover your debt payment.  Some of the factors to consider... What is your risk tolerance?  What is your loans interest rates?  What are your future goals? etc.