Found my first potential property. Is this house to "small"?

4 Replies

I've been listening to the BP podcast for a few months now and have read several of the BP books so im anxious to get started. I found a local single family property that will be a fixer upper for $35,900. Its a 2 bed 1 bath house that's only 950 square feet and other than some obvious cosmetic flaws looks like a pretty solid property. Am I setting myself up for failure with such a small property? Im pretty sure ill be limiting my options for tenants with such a small property but will this be a ongoing issue for me going forward? Just curious if anyone else has struggled with smaller houses. Thanks in advance! 

I guess it just depends on your area and the numbers.  If you feel like you'll have a strong market for a 2 bedroom product then I would say go for it.  You'll probably have to rent to a single person or a couple as most families will want something larger.  

We made a choice to not buy 2 bedroom houses as I wanted our rent to be at least $800 or more per property to justify the hassle.  Once we set that criteria we started focusing on 3 bedroom houses.  We do have some apartments units though that are 2 bedroom.  

My concern with 2 bedrooms houses is that if your rent is only $500 - $650 range then where are you going to come up with the money for cap ex and maintenance, etc?  There just isn't a lot left over at the end of the month/year.  It's easier to tackle some of these things when you have $900-$1,000 coming in every month.   My 2 cents.