Best account for down payment saving

37 Replies

I am relatively new to real estate and am in the process of trying to save for a down payment. Right now I am stashing money away in a savings account earning 2% (not a lot, but better than most savings accounts). I am just wondering where everyone else keeps their money while saving up for an investment? I'd like to keep the money somewhat liquid in case I find something I want to buy with it, but I also want to get the most return for that money at the same time. Does anyone have better ideas? Thank you in advance!

Ooh. This comes up frequently. We discussed it on the BiggerPockets Money Podcast with Andy Hill, Episode 34. (www.biggerpockets.com/moneyshow34) and (spoiler alert) we just interviewed J Scott for Episode 70 which airs on 4/29. That episode also has tips for places to stash your funds while you're saving up. 

There aren't a lot of options for high returns and low risk. 2% is about topping it out as far as safe spots to store the cash. 

Awesome! I knew I had heard or read about it before, but I couldn't remember where. I will definitely go back and listen to show 34 again, and I look forward to your episode with J Scott! 

I really appreciate the reply.

Originally posted by @Andy Murray :

I am relatively new to real estate and am in the process of trying to save for a down payment. Right now I am stashing money away in a savings account earning 2% (not a lot, but better than most savings accounts). I am just wondering where everyone else keeps their money while saving up for an investment? I'd like to keep the money somewhat liquid in case I find something I want to buy with it, but I also want to get the most return for that money at the same time. Does anyone have better ideas? Thank you in advance!

If that's your mindset, quit while you're ahead.

... or, invest in your own financial education and learn how to use money to make money instead of being a "consumer" and trying to "save" money .