Business Cards for Newbies

35 Replies

So as I continue my research into RE I see a relatively common theme. A lot of people say to get a Business card and have some on you at all times to give out.

Since I am a newbie to REI and I have not done any deals (yet), I was wondering if I should spend the money to create a business card? If the answer is yes, would information do I put on it. Obviously I would put my name, phone number, email, what I want to do (buy houses) and maybe a picture of me, but what if I don't own a company or have an LLC? Is it not professional to have a company name on them?

As always, thank you for the inputs!!!

Brendan

Getting 100 or so is pretty cheap and adds a good amount of credibility so I would recommend doing it. You don't even need a company name if you don't have one. Just put your name and then "Real Estate Investor." 

That being said, it would probably be a good idea top open an LLC.

Keep it simple, basic contact info & then go to every REIA & seminar you can find & network & meet other investors, then read every book & watch every podcast that you possibly can & basically give yourself a PhD in real estate.

I used Vista print also. They have templates for lots of industries, including RE.

My networking and seller cards are personal, no business name.  I buy homes and plexes.  Private investor. Not an agent.  

My sellers are usually tired landlords that self-manage.   They work belly to belly with people, not random companies.

I have a biz name on my cards for tenants.  Helps legitimize me looking like the handyman I do, asking for holding monies.  Depends on your target audience.

@Brendan Chetuck - Don't overthink it! Grab some business cards, what's more important is that you're going out and meeting people, getting THEIR info (probably in the form of business cards), etc. As long as you don't fall into the trap of thinking that designing the perfect business card is the key to riches, you'll be good!