Why Should I Use Hard Money Lending

10 Replies

I am a dentist in North West IL. I currently have 7 Locations and we own 4 of the properties where our dental offices reside. We pay ourselves rent from these locations, which assures us a profitable return. I placed our company (Shady Oak Holdings LLC) 100% in my wife's name to assure that she has income in case the unfortunate would happen to me. Shady Oak Holdings LLC also owns a single family residence and an apartment above one of our locations.

We are looking to expand into real estate investment using rental properties as well as the BRRR method. We are in a rural community where rehabs can be found very inexpensively.

I dislike banks as we purchase a ton of equipment and my credit is constantly getting checked and I am interested in information regarding hard money lending as an alternative.

I would greatly appreciate any feedback from anyone that has experience with hard money lending.

Best Regards,

Scott Bares DDS

Hard money is the most costly option 12% plus on interest, squeeze and other costs, and most HML want input on rehab projects. Also HML generally look for short term turn around 3-6 months , they like to get in and get out. I would talk to a lender about getting a HELOC on your properties and using your own equity to buy.

Originally posted by @Scott Bares :

I am a dentist in North West IL. I currently have 7 Locations and we own 4 of the properties where our dental offices reside. We pay ourselves rent from these locations, which assures us a profitable return. I placed our company (Shady Oak Holdings LLC) 100% in my wife's name to assure that she has income in case the unfortunate would happen to me. Shady Oak Holdings LLC also owns a single family residence and an apartment above one of our locations.

We are looking to expand into real estate investment using rental properties as well as the BRRR method. We are in a rural community where rehabs can be found very inexpensively.