Advice & Networking: Bay Area duplex for a 1st time buyer

2 Replies

I am new to RE, first time buyer. I would like to purchase a duplex anywhere in the Bay Area. Currently living in San Francisco, I can move for a house hack. I would feel comfortable buying 300-450k putting 20% down. I’m a self-employed business owner with no debt and a great credit score. I am willing to fix the property and hold it.

Is this a realistic $ range?

Will I have any luck in duplex foreclosures?

Would purchasing in Napa be a good idea? Or anywhere in Northern California? To then Airbnb it.. I have excellent hosting experience.

I’d love to connect, chat, or grab coffee with anyone who has knowledge in this area.

I would like to begin building relationships with people in the industry in hopes to find a partner after my first purchase.

I welcome all feedback. Thank you.

A couple items. 

Napa county does not allow airbnb except for a handful of properties that have licenses of which two are on the market currently and asking prices exceeds $4,000,000+. The city of Napa has 49 licensed Airbnb homes and the permit travels with the deed. Currently one is on the market with an asking price of $1,500,000+ 

In the 9 Bay Area counties the only county where you could stay in the mid $400's on a duplex is Vallejo. Vallejo happens to be the best market in the Bay Area and nationally to invest in real estate. Just Google news articles on Vallejo real estate. I currently own multiple properties in Vallejo and looking for more. 

If you need a Realtor referral for that market let me know. 

Thank you 

@Erica A.

In San Francisco or anywhere in California really,  properties typically cost more.

Not sure if you own a house now. .. 

With 90k at your disposal, instead of tying up 90k to control and participate in appreciation on 450k valued real estate...