Canadian bigger pockets investing

58 Replies

Hey,

I’m new to the bigger pockets forums and I currently reside in British Columbia Canada. Are there any fellow Canadian investors here that could point me in the right direction as to where I should start ?

What markets are reasonably affordable with acceptable returns would be a great starting point !

@Jesse Graham   Depending where you are in BC, finding rentals can be hard.  Do you want something local or are you willing to invest long distance?

BC has a few things that other provinces don't. I know BC and AB the best and have rentals in both provinces.  BC has a property purchase tax that will add to the expense of purchasing a rental and in the lower mainland and many parts of Vancouver Island, the housing prices are high.  Prices have leveled off, but for parts of Vancouver Island like Parksville and Qualicum, you're looking at $250K for a condo as a starting point.  Nanaimo has some lower prices, still high, but lower than the surrounding area.  I've heard Port Alberni is the same and has affordable rentals.  If you are on the mainland and in the south, look at the Cranbrook area.

If you are willing to invest in another province, then there are more options.

@Theresa Harris

So far I have my eye on the okanagan area, I’ve been watching it for a while as I save up my initial investment and educate my self.

I am very interested in Alberta but I don’t know a lot about the the towns and what the rental market is like, but the prices there are quite appealing. Unfortunately the 20 or so books I’ve read talk mostly of America.

I am currently living in the Fraser valley but I have no desire to invest here. My hope is to put 20% down and do some nice cosmetic renovations before putting it on the rental market

Originally posted by @Jesse Graham :

@Theresa Harris

So far I have my eye on the okanagan area, I’ve been watching it for a while as I save up my initial investment and educate my self.