Losing Money on a House Hack

7 Replies

Hello You All,

I would not say I'm new to the idea of investing, in fact, I've been obsessed for years. However, I am just getting to the point where I feel comfortable enough to put out feelers and begin the process. I am leaning towards a house hacking situation in a college town. Every few days, I'll run the numbers on a few duplexes and triplexes in the area and each time the cashflow is negative. But, is coming out of pocket 360 dollars a month comparable to paying rent? Is it so bad if the outcome is not necessarily income, but a reduction of personal expenses?  

@Sydney Key I tell clients all the time that house hacking where you can live 100% for free is almost impossible. In my market here in the Chicago burbs, it is common for the owner to have to chip in a few hundred every month while they are living there.  This is especially true if you are using a low down payment loan with very little skin in the game. Instead, consider the property as though you weren't living in it. Does it cash flow once you move out? I consider that a win. 

Second John Warren! I don't care where you are, if you can live in a decent house in a decent neighborhood for $300-400/month then that's a win. When analyzing the deal consider more how it will cashflow when all units are rented (assuming you're going to BRRRR it) - if its got good cashflow then then its got potential.

Hey @Sydney Key !

When you are running your analysis, are you looking at current or market rents? Only Duplex's, or larger units like Triplex's and Quads? Most deals in todays strong market, will require a little TLC, so Even if you are not extremely handy, Having the vision for what a property can become, can put you way ahead of the crowd. I have personally house hacked for the last several years, however none of the numbers would have worked had I not renovated my units to demand above market rent.