How to start with Real Estate Investing with $5k

16 Replies

I'm very new to real estate investing and I have $5k to start my business. I've decided to go the route of wholesaling because I don't know what other strategy I can use to get the most out of my money. I'd like to hear other perspectives on how I can get the most out of this 5k for in my REI business. What strategy would you use and if you would wholesale what would you use that money on to grow your business?

Have you thought about CivicSource.com? I had limited funds and went through them to purchase last year.  I think they pad a lot of their fees, but it was a somewhat quick way to gain adjudicated property.

@Account Closed I didn't realize there were no FL properties there :-( I looked at Brevard County Tax Deed Auctions and Sarasota in the past (I'm originally from Gulf County), and many were less than $5K at the time.  There's also Hudson & Marshall (cheapest I found there in FL was $7K though) and Castle Rock REO that offers owner financing for some of their properties.  Best of luck to you!

@Caleb Heimsoth what strategy are you suggesting I save more money for? Your answer was very vague. It seems some investors are having success with little money doing wholesaling so I would think that 5k could go some distance with this strategy. 

Originally posted by @Account Closed :

@Caleb Heimsoth what strategy are you suggesting I save more money for? Your answer was very vague. It seems some investors are having success with little money doing wholesaling so I would think that 5k could go some distance with this strategy. 

I like buying rentals.  I vote for that.  You spend 5k on wholesaling you very likely would have zero money after.  That’s why I don’t suggest that strategy