Which major should I get for a Real Estate Investing career?

7 Replies

Hello everybody!

I am a sophomore at Purdue University, and I am looking to switch my major from Education to something business related for the sake of my real estate investing career since I fell in love with this over the summer. I have a full ride, so I don't want to forego such an awesome blessing despite the lack of necessity for college education in this field. 

The catalog and information for the majors is here: 
https://krannert.purdue.edu/undergraduate/current-students/majors.php#toggleContent

I am not sure which of Accounting, Economics, Finance, General Management, Management, I should pursue as a major that is pertinent to what I am trying to do, while at the same time not being too strenuous that I cannot start owning properties in college (the former criterion being more important than the latter).

I should also note that I am in the process of getting my Realtors license and likely working with the office of Carpenter realty while in college. 

Thank you to anybody who takes the time to respond and help out a rookie like me! I would love to discuss with you!

@Sean DeRue   Personally I would recommend Business Administration with a concentration on Finance.  The two biggest parts of real estate investing are locating deals and financing them most favorably in your favor.  Also, with a degree in finance you have the world at your feet, and job opportunities everywhere you go.  Hard to go wrong.

On a side note, there is no such thing as a Realtor's license.  One can have a real estate license, but a Realtor is a member of the National Association of Realtors.  One does not have to be a Realtor to sell real estate (most commercial agents are not).

@Don Alder-LaRue Thank you very much for the recommendation! That sounds like a great plan, and I am eager to look into it!