Real Estate near Springfield, MO

15 Replies

Hey everyone in the Springfield/ Waynesville, MO area!

I'm a college student and I just recently discovered the business potential of real estate and I've been so obsessed with learning about the industry I've been consuming video and audio content from youtube and podcasts NON-STOP for a 3 months.

I want to learn from hands-on experience instead of just videos and podcasts, but I'm not interested in becoming a real estate agent or broker.

If you were to start over and you had nothing, where would you start? Who would you connect with? How would you bring value to individuals in the market? Are you someone I could network with or work for?

I'd like to know the most direct way to get involved in the market.

Thanks in advance for the advice, and I hope I can network with some of you soon!

-KJS

Hey man. I live in SW MO as well. I have been doing this pretty hardcore for about 2 years now. Up to 6 rental properties. I’m by no means an expert, but if you have a question be happy to help. 

@Kraig Sumpter & @Martin Tyler .  Hi gentlemen.  I'm based in Springfield MO as well.  LLing since 2005.

Your thoughts about hands-on learning are good.  LLing can be learned on the job, but there are a lot of mistakes to be made, and not everyone who reads a blog / watches a podcast is cut out for this.  If I were starting out again today, I'd try first figuring out what area I wanted to invest in: land lording, flipping, wholesaling, notes, etc.  Then figure out your target customer: Class A tenants, Class B....Class C.... lower?  Some people are easy to deal with: some are hard.  Some lie to your face and do not feel one ounce of guilt.  

Land lording is a PEOPLE business with houses as our INVENTORY.  Get the wrong customer (Tenant) and it won't matter how great a deal you got on the house itself.