17 years old, I want to get into real estate!

15 Replies

I’m Leon, 17 years old and I live in Connecticut, actually moved here a month ago. I was thrown out of my home by my mother who was addicted to drugs. I work part time for a restaurant, I’ve had 4 jobs already and realized that i’m honestly not making the money I should be. I turn 18 next month and plan to open a bank account and get a credit card which i will use for the sole purpose of gaining credit, not debt. I’m very uneducated in financial endeavors, and I have very little knowledge of real estate or landlords and such. Even certain terminology I have yet to figure out. I just want advice, tips or mentorship on where to even start in life with this. I want to either become an investor, that can snowball by putting in my own money from work, or a landlord with my own properties to rent to people. Please anyone help me to understand the first steps i need to take with this, i’m trying to start as early as possible. Thank you!

At your age it's not wise to dive head first into anything. I would focus on education and reading/mentoring/job shadowing as much as possible! You will learn a lot from hands on experience and still be able to work the restaurant job(s). Hopefully after few years you're interest/skills in real estate grow and you make some connections in the industry. By the time you're 20-25 years old you could own a few properties, save for reserves, flip, or wholesale deals. 

The sky is the limit but it starts with education. 

Hello @Jose Leon , if you are in New London County, we have a small meetup of investors once a month. I'll send you a PM with more information. Also, this site is great for learning. Whenever you have free time, get on here and read the blogs, articles and forums. 

Promotion
NestEgg
Smarter rental management
Outperform your peers by 71%
NestEgg landlords save $6,960/yr in fees & 20 hrs/mo*. Self-manage for free or go hands-off for $29.
Start now, get $500