Rent out my property or sell it?

17 Replies

Hey guy! This is my first post so bare with me as I am new to this. So I have a property in Delray Beach Florida that my wife and I currently live at. We live exactly one mile from the beach, trader Joe's and a bunch of other stores in the surrounding area, gym, Michael's, new whole foods ECT that we can walk too... We only owe $135k our Morgage is $1350 including $125 HOA. We are moving to Minnesota and we have two options... Sell for $335k and get around $190k net profit and use that to invest in MN (house hack a duplex, buy another single fam,Reno and rent out) or refinance it get $75 and use that to invest in MN and rent out my place in Florida...rent in my neighborhood is going for $2250 maybe I'm doing the formula wrong but the cap rate seems low...maybe $700 a month extra after expenses. Any tips?

@Victor Bradford   Does the mortgage include property taxes?  You also need to factor in vacancies, insurance, repairs, maintenance and management.  Given how much equity you have in the property and that if you sell it now vs 5 years down the road, the tax implications are different; I'd sell it and use it to buy either another single family rental (in addition to your primary residence) or a duplex in Minnesota.

I'd also look into how you will manage it from Minnesota too. Do you have a property management company you can use? Have you run the numbers with using it as a short term rental? Seems like a good location for that. You'd need a company or someone to do your turn overs but you could easily manage the bookings from afar. 

Wow! I didn't expect feed back this quickly lol thank you guys! So yes it does include taxes and I subtracted 15% for expenses, capex, and vacancy to total 15%. 

we just got a new roof, new wh, and ac just got an overhaul maintenance on it so it's all good...I have my mentor doing property management and I trust him.