Contractor Q's for Fliipers

2 Replies

Flippers!! I am new to real estate investing and I had a question regarding finding contractors. What is your #1 way to find contractors for a job? I know there is Angie's List and Yelp online, do you have a preference between the two? Are there any red flags I should look out for that may not be obvious to someone new? Thank you so much for your help!

Add on: If anyone knows of good contractors in the Shreveport/Bossier City area let me know!

HI @Edward Maruna !  Welcome to BP and the wild world of flipping homes!

I personally steer clear of Angie's List, Yelp, BP Vendor, Dave Ramsey Select Vendors, or any other service that charges the vendor for membership and then promotes the list to the public as if trust, excellence, and performance have ANYTHING to do with the list selection.  All of these sponsorships are based on MONEY.  The ones that pay are the ones that are "featured, trusted, etc".  This muddies the water when it comes with vendors who are reputable versus vendors who pay to be promoted.

Red flags would be: 1. Are they a contractor?  If so, red flag!  

Kinda kidding with that one, but seriously . . . stop right now and read @Jay Scott's book The Book on Flipping Houses before you get one under contract and tie up money in one.  You'll want to have a process laid out before you venture into business with any contract, and Jay's example of draw schedules and agreements with the GC before the construction begins are awesome!

Good luck, and even better preparedness,