From personal experience, Do you prefer rehabbing or turnkey?

10 Replies

Hello Everyone,

I am new in the real estate business, and I am doing intensive research, and I am preparing to buy my first rental property in the next few months, I wanted to ask the bigger pockets community, Thier opinion of that can help my decision on what type of property I should aim for.

I have yet to purchase my first investment so wait for others to chime in. However oh, my guess would be that when it comes to profitability, rehabbing would give you more control over how much you can potentially make

Welcome to BP @Account Closed! There are pros and cons for both options. The issue a lot of people have with turnkey is that forcing appreciation and selling quickly for a profit has been removed. When you choose the turnkey method, the turnkey company has done this for you, this is how we make our money. The BRRR method is a great option for a person who has a bunch of free time, they're handy, and know people and have a good network of people who they can contract for any extra work. BRRR method can take a long time, the longer it takes, the longer you have to pay out of pocket for the mortgage - if you financed.

The turnkey method means that you don't need to do any of that work. The turnkey company does all of the work on their time and dime. The turnkey company has networks and systems in place to find the best properties and rehab to a high standard and quality. This also means that you won't have to worry about vacancy risk during the rehab process. Going with the turnkey option means that you've traded extra potential return from forced appreciation for the luxury of having your time and energy back and having someone else do the hard work for you.