18 year old Real Estate Investor

10 Replies

Hi!

First off I’d like to say thank you to you all for the information that is posted in here! I have found a lot of very useful information and I’m grateful that I found this site.

On to the background and questions.

I am a 18 year old freshman in college at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Ks and am on track to graduate in 3 years. I have been interested in the business side of things since the beginning of high school and the real estate market for a couple of years now. I have now finally been put into a situation where I can take action. Throughout the last 4 years I have been fixing and flipping dirtbikes, ATVs, boats and other toys. This job/hobby has allowed me to profit more than $20,000 in which I have saved/invested for the future. I am now planning on using this as a down payment for a house hack and possible investment properties in the Kansas City area.

Lawrence is a very tough market with high prices and hard to find cash flowing properties but Kansas City is a great market if you find the diamonds in the rough.

My question is... should I still look into a house hack in Lawrence or just focus on finding an investment property in Kansas City.

It’s hard for me to come to a compromise with paying rent when I know there’s ways to let my money work for me instead of “giving it away” to the landlord.

Any suggestions and advice would be much appreciated. I’d love to meet with anyone in the area as well. Thank you.

I'd like to add that I have talked to several local banks, credit unions and have been almost "pre-pre-approved" for a 3.5 FHA loan as well as a 20% down conventional loan. With the help of my decent credit score and my parents as non-occupying co-borrowers (to increase my debt to income ratio).

Hi Cade!