FHA Loan First Time Duplex

10 Replies

Hello, newbie here, instantly loving this process of research, analysis and deal hunting :) I'm looking to make my 1st REI!

It would seem that with the higher payment associated with an FHA loan, it is likely to have to accept a lower profit margin when purchasing your first REI.

How low in profit would you go on rental income vs mortgage payment?

Would you only consider appraised home value vs purchase cost or would you also take into account expected appreciation of a new upscale subdivision since the intent is buy and hold anyway?

I'm buying my first duplex and I'll have to live in the house for a year, so I'm leaning towards getting a nicer, newer place that I'll enjoy as my first REI and landlord learning experience.

Would really appreciate hearing everyone's experience on their FHA loans starting out. Thanks in advance!

Brandon

@Brandon Kingcaid I'm slightly confused by your statement "it would seem that with the higher payment associated with an FHA loan...", it sounds like you're referring to the downpayment and FHA has one of (if not the) lowest downpayments you can get at 3.5%, the downside being that you're stuck with MIP for the life of the loan. Overall FHA can be a good way to start (I used it myself to purchase a duplex), however I've heard of several banks doing 5% down loans with only PMI, which you can get removed after you have 20% equity in the home. If it were me, I'd look into if your local banks do something similar. The other downside to FHA is that they have stricter rules on the conditions of the house, so some sellers don't like to work with buyers using FHA loans (although it sounds like you're looking at newer properties so might not be an issue).