Hard Money Lender Scams

16 Replies

Hi there,

So, I am new to investing. In the past 6 weeks, I've been able to buy property from motivated sellers and sell it for a very large profit. AS a result, I applied for private funding with willie stevens with posh realty investors. I was able to be approved for $100,000 based on an executive summary, my drivers license, and copy of my utility bill. NO bank statements, or proof of my business financials were required. I got approved for 100k and he is offering me 5% interest rate. Pay back within 1 year. The paperwork looks legitimate. ITs 3 pages long that outlines the terms. It is going to cost me $3,900 which is an up-front loan processing fee.

Does this funding seem legitimate? I don't want to be scammed into someone getting me to wire them $3,900 to their bank account. What are other signs for private money scammers? 

You already have most of the signs, low interest,upfront fees,  add little or no down payment, no lenders license, no physical office or presence  , easy approval , and impossible to find investors in your area that you can verify by property deed of trust or mortgage. Run Run away @Alexis Monroe

Thanks for the feedback. I requested proof of lenders license and he emailed immediately.  He also sent me his drivers license. I also verified his company is registered with state. Could it still be a scam with this documentation? What are realistic terms for private lenders? 

5% interest is not a legit rate for someone you don't know. I've never heard of him, and have no personal experience with him. However, upfront lending fees are highly unusual for legitimate lenders and very common for scammers.

Originally posted by @Alexis Monroe :