Should I purchase a home to live in or a rental property FIRST?

14 Replies

I've heard different opinions on this. I'm 23 years old with a wife and 10 month old daugher. We just moved to the Houston, Texas area and I've recently just started making good money for the first time in my short adult life. I work in the door to door sales industry selling pest control. I'm in the position that I can start seriously considering real estate options now. Granted, by no means do I want to get over zealous and just jump straight in. Ive really wanted to buy my family a home (real estate is stupid cheap here) but I also would like to hear if anyone would say to keep renting and spend the money on investment real estate instead. We both hate renting for the simple fact that we prefer not to pay money for things we acquire no equity in and aren't fans of living by other people's rules. Nonetheless, we mainly want to just make the correct financial decisions because those will be better in the long run. Thank you in advance for your help.

Hi @Zach Simpson , here is another opinion... Buy a duplex or larger small multifamily property. This way you get into investing and you get your family a home. Best of both worlds. This is what I wished I would have done...

@Zach Simpson I would say to consider your goals. I know for my family, having a house to call our own was very important to my wife. We bought a personal home first 3 years ago, and a SFH and a duplex since then. If property is "stupid" cheap", maybe you could do both a personal home and rental property in the same year?

It really depends on what your goals are.  Everyone is different.  Think of where you want to be in 10 years.  Do you want to replace your income or your wifes with real estate or are you just looking for some side income?  What's the magical number a year where you say ok that's it I am making enough where I quit my full time job?