Rehab Newbies looking for a partner

49 Replies

My husband and I are looking to do our first Rehab and flip in WI. I am a CPA and he is a very handy ( has done work for others and also updated our old home where we turned a 65k net profit, which we invested into a new house) For the last 6 months we have been reading and listening to podcasts to learn more about this but we recognize that we need help from an expert:

1. What does a good property look like? Where can we find it

2. Funding?

Thank you all! 

1. One where you can make a profit, the signs of that are short estimated rehab time, desirable area etc.

2. If you plan to flip you can usually get away with hard money, if you want to buy and hold a bank loan is going to be the way to go.

@Ana Klein avoid hard money if possible, flipping is hard, and you could easily lose money, if you do go with hard money calculate your interest cost per day, it will motivate you to move more quickly during the rehab and to lower list price or accept a lower offer when appropriate on resale.

@Aaron K. we have about 60k in 401k money we can use, which we plan to use since our ROI on that is so low its pathetic. what do you think? it is scary regardless My husband is very very handy but we have no idea where to even start looking ( app or website) that can give us homes that are worth it

@Ana Klein I would not use 401k money if it were me. Primarily because there are steep penalties for taking it out of the 401k. Secondarily your ROI on your 401k may not be as low as you think it is, if it truly is you should compare an optimized 401k portfolio to what you want to do vs your current returns. The trick with RE investing is that you have to sift through a lot of junk before you find a diamond in the rough there is no app or website that has properties just for investors, you have to look on MLS unless you are comfortable buying off market properties, which I wouldn't be comfortable with on a first purchase.