Jesse From SoCal looking to invest (got real Numbers)

12 Replies

Hello everyone! I been looking through the blog post and I am so impressed with this community (reddit watch out!)

Here is what I want to do, just like many of you I want to replace my W2 income with rental properties. I want to spend time with my wife and my three kids!

* I’m 30, married live in SoCal. Me and wife are debt almost debt free we have a RV and the mortgage.

* roughly 16k in the bank.

* wife a teacher makes 45k/year

* I am a manager at Starbucks 70k/year

I want to get started in SoCal. I am looking at the following area Riverside, Palm Springs and surrounding areas.

My questions are

How should I start? (Someone please tell me)

What kinda loans should I get?

What questions should I ask my lender?

I am looking forward to seeking help! I am totally the person that shares everything after being taught. I would pass this info forward to help the next person!

Thank you again

Hi @Jesse Felix -

Given your present situation, I would encourage you to plow as much money as you can into your savings.  With a 6-figure income and near-zero debt, I'd encourage you to try to put a few thousand a month in the bank.  Have you looked at house-hacking?

Okay! I know my questions are simple answers but it brings me to conclusion of it’s just that get the down payment and find the deal and then manage it and BOOM! You are investing and if you manage risk you will cashflow

Hi Jesse,