14 year old interested in real estate.

12 Replies

Right now I am currently 14 years old and I have been reading The Ultimates Beginners Guide to Investing in Real Estate by Brandon Turner. I have also listen to about 15 BiggerPockets podcasts about house hacking and investing in multi-family properties. I have a few questions about multi family investing. I know I am very young to be interested in investing in real estate and planning out my life this early but I am very intrigued about real estate. Should my first investment use the BRRRR strategy when I have no experience on anything? What are some states that have cheaper fixer-uppers (I currently live in Minnesota)? What books do you recommend for learning more about the Real Estate aspects of House hacking and the BRRRR strategy. If you could, can you please answer my questions. Thank you for your time.

@Austin Jacobus It’s too early to decide what your first investment should be right now or you just want to continue to learn and try to get some hands on experience. By the time you were ready to execute on your first deal you might have a better option than you have now so don’t make long-term plans yet instead try to find an investor that you can add value to work on projects to gain experience. it’s too early to decide what your first investment should be right now or you just want to continue to learn and try to get some hands on experience. By the time you were ready to execute on your first deal you might have a better option than you have now so don’t make long-term plans yet instead try to find an investor that you can add value to work on projects to gain experience

I was interested in rentals at that age too! BRRR sounds sexy but is really hard to make work in MSP area. I'd focus on getting all the knowledge you can find and get skills needed to make a decent income. I was the same way as you man, it just takes time and effort.