Is Gainsville, Georgia a good market to renters market

7 Replies

I am a newbie to the REI and looking to wonder if it is wise to buy a house on auction.com in the gainsville,GA area for 10OK or buy a decent place in Cumming GA, with mortgage with 30 percent for 280 K and rent it out.

Gainesville, GA Auction.com foreclosed house 100k  - Rent ? for approximately 3 bed and 2 bath Risk high

Cumming,GA mortgage 30 percent down. interest on the mortgage $1000 but can be rented our for $1600 

Not sure which route it better. Please advise?

@Joe Dupa how far is the Cumming property from Lake Lanier? Maybe you'll be able increase your revenue by having it as a short term rental (STR) vs traditional tenant. Run the numbers. Also, if you haven't identified a property in Cumming yet, maybe you can find one with a basement that has an exterior entry to let the basement be your STR and the main living area being a LTR.

Let me know if that makes sense. Clearly I’m leaning more towards Cumming than Gainesville ☺️

Originally posted by @Joe Dupa :

I am a newbie to the REI and looking to wonder if it is wise to buy a house on auction.com in the gainsville,GA area for 10OK or buy a decent place in Cumming GA, with mortgage with 30 percent for 280 K and rent it out.

Gainesville, GA Auction.com foreclosed house 100k  - Rent ? for approximately 3 bed and 2 bath Risk high

Cumming,GA mortgage 30 percent down. interest on the mortgage $1000 but can be rented our for $1600 

Not sure which route it better. Please advise?

I would stay out of  Georgia. It's a terrible market. Better off going out west or up north.