Why are my friends so against me investing in Real estate?!

191 Replies

I’m just starting out.

I’ve been reading like crazy, analyzing deals CONSTANTLY, driving neighborhoods, talking with my real estate agent, meeting with investors currently in my market (and other markets).

But when I talk to my friends and family about investing in Real Estate, it’s always negative and “you can’t” or “you shouldn’t”.

What gives? Why are my friends and family members so against me investing in real estate?!

Any ideas?

And, how do I win them over?

They are afraid that you might actually prove them wrong and become successful. They will be watching you even closer so that if you fail or something goes wrong or sadly quit, they will be there to pile on even more negativity. Do not let them steal your dream. Starting out you should probably not let them in on what you are really doing bc when they see your success you won't have to say anything and it will shut them up!!

Good luck!! 

If it is coming from a " good place " than I am going to step out on a limb and guess they are ppl who have always been an employee who has very little ambitions of being a business owner type trading hours for dollars.

My mom was the same way, I would tell her when I had a huge month and rather than hear her sing praises of how proud she should be for me all she wanted to know is if I was planning to save money for taxes.

@Curt Davis

That sounds eerily familiar.

I’ve been getting a lot of. “My dad had a rental and” insert horror story here...

“I just don’t like the idea of all that risk”..

I was talking with my wife about it last night. Incidentally it got brought up in front of a helipad of friends who, as you guessed, are employees without the ambition of a passive income.