Looking to buy a property in Oahu to house hack

15 Replies

Hey everyone! I'm new to BP and found this site while looking for more information on real estate investing after reading "Rich Dad Poor Dad". I live in the beautiful island of Oahu and am looking to invest in my first property. I want to house hack to hopefully live for free and build some appreciation on the property. But I don't really know where to start.

For a first time buyer looking to invest in a high cost location like Hawaii, what would you recommend? Continue to rent and try and do an out of state rental? Or invest in my first property on island to house hack?

Thank you in advance!

@Rob King

Thank you! Any advice for house hacking out here? What were some things that you did that made you successful? It’s awesome to hear from someone from the island who has made some success! I’m all ears man, I’m like a sponge!

Hey @David Valladares

I would recommend purchasing your own home before investing. House hack, live in flip, etc. If done right, it can be the single greatest investment you make. Especially in Hawaii, where appreciation will either make you or break you. The median home price is currently 10+ times greater than the median income. This multiplier is only going to get higher, making it harder to afford to purchase a home. Or if you already own a home, it will set up you and your family very well for the future. A couple live in flips can make a world of difference in your financial position.

I noticed you're in Kapolei.  If you're flexible in living on the West side, you can get ahead extremely fast by house hacking and doing live in flips there.  I'm happy to discuss more if you're interested.

@Isi Nau I agree, there is real growth potential in the west side esp with the push towards greater infrastructure spending to make Kapolei a true second city.