Cash-Out Refinance for an Investment Property

8 Replies

Hi All! I'm brand new to Bigger Pockets and I'm looking for some information in this amazing community. My Fiancee and I purchased a HUD home 14 months ago to be Owner Occupants. We paid 26 for it, it appraised at 54 (before installing new kitchen, bathroom, and other upgrades.) With all that said, would a cash-out refinance be feasible in our current scenario, and if so....could the resulting cash be used to purchase another property for investment purposes? Thanks in advance :)

I believe you can do this, but only up to a certain amount of equity. The bank is likely to be very conservative with the property value and will not likely let you cash out more than 80% of the value of the property as determined by the bank. This does depend on the bank though, both rate and property value.

There may be some special restrictions for HUD homes. I don't know what if any there are. I'm sure your refinancing institution will let you know.

Just to give you some heads up. Refinancing right now is taking a long time. Most personal refinances are taking about 3 months. I just finished refinancing my personal home this week, and I started the voyage on November 15th. Your mileage may vary of course.

Also doing a cash-our refinance may freeze your ability to refinance for some time.

All of that being said, if you have a lot of equity in your house, now is a great time to refinance as rates are very low. As long as you believe you can confidently generate a return with that cash higher than your financing rate, then it's a smart play in my opinion.

Thanks for your response, John! I kind of figured it would be around 80%. Thanks again for the heads up information.

Daniel, are you still occupying the home? If so, refinancing it will be relatively easier.

Welcome to BiggerPockets!