20% down with cashflow or 5% without?

11 Replies

My first investment, I am looking at 2 options.. I can co sign with my kid and he will be one of 3 renters in the condo, it won't cashflow but I can put just 15k down and hopefully the tax breaks will be worth the investment. Turn key in Utah doesn't cash flow.

Option 2, I found a property with a current lease in place for another year that I will have to put 44k down but it will cash flow 200/month and once the lease expires it will cash flow 350/month.

Which is the preferred method? I don't think I can do both but I'm looking into it. THOUGHTS?

PS I'm a realtor so I can use the commissions toward lowering what I have to put down which helps and I didn't include that in the math yet. 

after considering, I think it would be smartest to put less down and do it again in a year, and another a year after... obviously I will not cash flow on 2 properties but keeping 30k in the bank to cover the difference every month will last for years of losses which barring all craziness, the homes will appreciate, rents will increase and the mortgage will be paid down enough to eliminate PMI. And cash flow will begin.

Im not sure I understand option 1. It seems like alot going on. Do you need a cosigner to qualify?  is the main goal the investment or housing for your kid?  Your kid will be renting from you but he is a cosigner on the loan? but he would not be cosigning if its option 2?  

We dont have much information to go by but I prefer option 2 because it seems more straight forward.   However the cash flow may be low compared to how much you have to put down.

Dont feel like these are your only 2 options, you may want to consider to continue to look.  Also you may want to figure out the non-financial questions first.  is the goal to provide housing for your kid? if so, that is only accomplished with one of the options.