Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Christopher Dumelle
  • Belvidere, IL
Votes |
My First Post: What I'm doing & What else could/should I be doing.

Christopher Dumelle
  • Belvidere, IL
Posted Mar 5 2013, 19:51

My Background:

I am basically new to real estate investing. I am 25 years old. I have a full time job and am a volunteer fire fighter. I have been "around" real estate most of my life my parents have long dreamed of doing real estate and have done a couple deals in the past one successful, one not so much. My father has been a real estate agent for about 5 years now. Even before this we would constantly be looking at homes weather that was looking in windows of homes for sale as we drove by or when we were moving viewing 50-100 homes before we found the right house. I feel I have a decent knowledge of basic real estate terms, and an elementary understanding of most of the concepts (fix n flip, buy and hold, wholesaling) I know I am far from an expert on any of these I am learning as much as I can everyday through pod casts on here, reading forums the beginners guide, and any other opportunities I come across to gain knowledge. I have been a member of this community since 2009 only occasionally checking in and receiving the emails. Until this past year i was able too purchase my own home at about 50% of market value.

My Current Situation:

I work between 40-60 hours a week right now, most weeks more towards the 60 hour mark. I have some personal debt I am working on paying off so the more hours I work the easier I can accomplish that. My current goal is to be completely debt free by 30 unless that debt is producing cash flow. Everything I have read says you need to have a plan and be prepared, so here is what i am doing before I jump into attempting any deals.