How to Start Real Estate Investing with a Day Job

28 Replies

Hi, my name is Kai. I recently read Brandon's book "The Book on Rental Property Investing" and got really interested in real estate investing. But here is my situation. I work in the finance industry, and my day job is very demanding. I have to work 12-13 hours a day. I do have the weekends to myself, which right now I mainly spend on unwinding and relaxing. In Brandon's book, it seems that rental property investing can be a very time-consuming process. You will need to spend time on finding deals, analyzing deals, carrying out due diligence, and all other stuff. I have imagined doing this at night and on weekends, and it just felt overwhelming to me.

Apart from that, I live in northern California Bay Area, where the property values are extremely high, and the rent-to-price ratios are low. It seems like most of the time I will just be building up equity instead of receiving cash flow if I invest in California. Most likely I have to invest in another state like Idaho/Michigan to find attractive deals. This "long-distance" adds another layer of difficulty to me starting on real estate investing.

Does anybody have similar experience before or are in a similar situation now? If so, could you give me some advice on how to start out despite these difficulties? Thank you!

You could look for deals in the evening or weekends to get started. Also, if you want to invest in real estate but keep your W-2, you could also look into passive investing in multifamily deals. You make money on your investment each month, without putting any hours in. 

Kai.......welcome to BP.

Second...no disrespect my man, but thousands of people have been in your shoes in the SF Bay Area with demanding jobs that have found the time and energy to invest out of state successfully.

You can do it.