A little late, but did I do anything wrong?

8 Replies

First off, let me say I am so happy that I found this forum. I spent most of Friday and most of my morning today reading such informative posts.

Anyway, I am new to all of this and have not so recenlty completed my first rehab. It was a 80K HUD sfh that was appraised at 115K. Needed some work, so I partnered with my brother (I had the money, he's got the construction skills) and bought the house.
I used my HELOC on my primary residence to pay cash for the property and 0% credit cards to finance the repairs (13K). Today its on the the market for 129K. Its been on the market for 5 months (through winter) and I'm anxiously awaiting an offer so I can move on to our next house.
I am actually looking for anyone that wants to to critique what I did/am doing. Fire away!

My only comment would be that you might have the house priced too high. If it's appraised value is $115K, why do you have it priced at $129K? Pricing a property above the market price is not a good way to sell a house quickly.

Also, I would consider your local market. In many parts of the country, the inventory is rising and the market prices are beginning to fall. If that is the case in your area, you need to be priced below the market.

On future deals, I would try to buy at even a bigger discount to guard against a looming housing market meltdown and recession.

Mike

Appraisal or not, if its not selling, its priced too high. Now I would say that sometimes a house doesn't sell even though its priced correctly because of lack of exposure.

Now the MLS (via a realtor) and a sign in the yard are the two best ways to expose and sell your house. If you have it listed and its not selling then as Mike already stated, I think its safe to say that its priced too high. Try dropping it 5% or 10% and see what happens.

berger,