Creating LLC prior to purchase of first property

10 Replies

I'm getting all my ducks in a row before I get started investing. First, I cant seem to find a search function on this website. So here goes my question.... Should I apply for an LLC before the purchase of my first rental? I am envisioning purchasing 2 rentals a year, hopefully starting within the next 6 months. As I start growing my business, maybe this number will increase. In the event that I dint grow and end up with a few rentals, is an LLC worth the expenditure. I do have some personal assets that I would not want to lose if a tenant decided to sue me as a landlord. What other options are available to protect a landlord other than LLC?

Also, do some of you opt to create a new LLC for each property or do you limit each LLC to a value range?

Thanks

I am a newbie with no rentals but here are my 2 cents. Look for an insurance that has umbrella coverage to cover you as a landlord. If I am incorrect I hope someone helps me learn about correct way of going about this as well.

Hi, I am hoping to buy my first house and house hack in about 6 months too. Have you found any info for your question? I have been trying to figure this out, but haven't gotten the answers yet.