New Investor Worcester, MA

8 Replies

Hi BP,

My name is Sam. I am a 25 year old born and raised in the greater boston area. I'm just getting started and I’ve been trying to absorb as much information as possible, books, podcasts, blogs etc. 

My plan is to start with a buy and hold method with small multi family properties. I have spent some time scanning through the Worcester, MA market, and think it may be a good fit for me.

I have been analyzing deals, but seem to be stuck on this hypothetical situation. Currently I am renting, but have ~$30k of my own money to work with. I am not sure whether or not I should wait until my lease is up (in 10 months) to purchase a property and house hack with a low down payment using a FHA loan, or use a higher down payment and a conventional loan in the meantime and rent out the all units. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Are there certain Worcester neighborhoods/suburbs that you prefer or avoid investing in?

Would love to talk to anyone about their story or any pros and cons they have come across investing in this area!

Samuel,

When your looking to invest in your local market you can reach out and network with appraisers and real estate agents. Getting into a solid networking group locally or in general will help keep you in the loop and up to date on market analysis. Studying the market and the rent schedules for each area is a good idea and will help when locating the first property. You can use online public records to look at properties tax bills, Last sold date, increase in comparable values with or without renovations. Comparing renovation costs versus sale prices and either avoiding certain renovations or following a profitable trend. Work with a bank/lender that will get you pre-approved and work with you and your agent to help guide through the process working as a team.

Hey Sam, welcome!