Cash only deal with little capital

3 Replies

I am new to real estate investing and development. I have done plentiful amounts of research but have not yet moved into the actual "practice" of owning real estate. I Have come across a good deal on a rehab and rental property that is well within my buying range. The ROI on the property is encouraging but the listing is cash only.

With little capital, not enough to purchase with cash, what routes can I take to make this deal happen?

Cash only can be deceiving. I bought a triplex last august that the seller had listed as Cash only, but in reality they were just looking to be able to walk away with their money in their pocket. I went and got a traditional mortgage and everything worked out fine.

Other ways are partnership or maybe hard money.  May be difficult if you are new however.

I have found that the best thing to do is find out the reason for selling so you can provide a solution.  Perhaps the seller is in financial trouble but only needs 40% of the sale price in cash immediately.  Find out what they need and work with that to see if you both can come to a solution.

Jared, thank you for your input. That has given me a new outlook on it. 

I think I will talk to the seller and see the situation they are in. Hopefully that will provide some insight to forming a deal.

In regards to the hard money loan, what do you see as the biggest downfall to that route? I plan to rent the units out after rehab not necessarily flip immediately.