• Investor
  • South Florida
Votes |
RE Investing - Start Up Strategy - Opinions & Guidance Requested

Jeffrey White
  • Investor
  • South Florida
Posted Sep 21 2020, 08:02

Good day! I’m new to RE investing and have a unique experience presented to me. As being well-experienced RE investors here on BiggerPockets, your opinions and guidance are much appreciated.

BACKGROUND – I have been a professional healthcare IT strategist/consultant/project manager for more than two decades. Being a principal of two consulting firms, I am now desiring to change my career focus to RE investing. Over the past year my business (100% owned) did very well with 8 large projects and I have been rewarded with a windfall profit of $1.2MM of which I want to start RE investing.

REAL ESTATE EXPERIENCE – Over the past 35 years I have purchased and lived in 6 houses in different parts of the U.S. One of the houses was a 4/2.5/2 purchased in Ventura County, California for $535,000 in 2010. I designed and contracted a complete remodel of the house which also included some wall demo and kitchen reconfiguration. The remodel cost was $112,000 and house was sold in 2016 for $865,000 after being on MLS for two days. There remodel provided an ARV valuation increase of ~$175,00 and the remainder of profit increase was market appreciation.

LONG-TERM GOAL – By 2025 I want to be invested in commercial multifamily properties with more than 40 units. To get there, I need to gain the experience in RE transactions, functioning as a landlord (with a PM company) and build my investment fund to multiples of where it’s at today.