How much money should I save up to fund my first rental property?

24 Replies

Hello Everyone,

I am just beginning my process of becoming financially free. I am 18 years old living in Chicago and am going to college in Indiana. I have around 20k saved up and am trying to learn as much as I can now to be able to have enough money saved up to invest in a rental property. At the moment I am not sure if I want to renovate but I do know I would like an asset that appreciates. Any ideas or tips on how much I should save up before I start or tips In general? Really appreciate any responses. Thanks!

You have that backwards.  What you need to do is save up the money first ( you say your have $20k right now), then use that as your down payment, and figure out how much property you can buy.  then, go find the market where those properties exist

Originally posted by @Joe Villeneuve :

You have that backwards.  What you need to do is save up the money first ( you say your have $20k right now), then use that as your down payment, and figure out how much property you can buy.  then, go find the market where those properties exist

So you believe that my mindset should shift to trying to find an available market with my capital right now? 

Originally posted by @Mason Adelman :
Originally posted by @Joe Villeneuve:

So you believe that my mindset should shift to trying to find an available market with my capital right now? 

Yes, but you're missing the most important step ahead of it...you need to put together a plan for investing based on your financial needs for both cash flow and personal debt payoff.

Originally posted by @Joe Villeneuve :
Originally posted by @Mason Adelman:
Originally posted by @Joe Villeneuve:

That makes a lot of sense, so my first step should be realizing what type of property I want and goals within that.