Newbies looking to invest in Buffalo, NY

22 Replies

Hi everyone! My fiancée and I are fresh into the game of real estate, so we are excited to learn from the wonderful BiggerPockets community.

While we reside in northern Virginia, we are looking to invest in Western New York as my fiancée has close ties there. That said, we’d love to connect with those of you who are active in that market and hear of some of your successes/failures.

Looking forward to connecting with you!

Kaja and Robert

Kaja, nice to meet you. I'm a local investor and agent. Buffalo is a great place to invest even for out of staters. I'm happy connect with you and answer any questions you may have or even point you to pros for anything you need.

@Kaja Baum , Hi I'm from WNY. I recently retired from the military, and I am moving back to WNY. My goal is to renovate my house there and refinance it with a VA loan. Then pull money out of the refinance to buy a commercial property I'm looking at now.

@Kaja Baum and Robert -- welcome! Buffalo is a great place that has managed to stay off the national radar for quite a while. I keep hearing that we are getting an influx of people that left NYC during the pandemic, but have yet to witness it myself. I've been investing and rehabbing locally for about 4 years now. There is a lot to understand about the local neighborhoods and some really great opportunities if you buy right -- but that goes for anywhere. There is a monthly BP Meet-Up; I believe the 2nd Wednesday of each month. I've missed the last few but prior to that, made some great connections (including Khaled above) and it's definitely helped us grow. 

Happy to connect if you'd like, and we also have a local BP facebook group. I think a simple search will find it. Best wishes!

@Kaja Baum - Fredericksburg is considered NoVa now?!!! My....things have changed.