Beginner Investor in Norfolk Virginia. Please help!

11 Replies

Hello all! I'm active duty military moving to Virginia around May next year (2021). I have no experience in real estate investing. I would like to start with house hacking but any advice would be great! Should I look into turnkey duplex or SFH and rent out the rooms? Or should I buy a fixer upper and flip it? I'm am trying to learn the market in this area as I am stationed out of country at this time.

Any advice on where to start would be helpful! Thank you all for your time. 

Very Respectfully,

Cesar Ramirez-Fajardo

Hi @Cesar Ramirez-Fajardo , welcome back to the BP forums!  

A house-hack is a fantastic idea and I suspect you'll have some good opportunities in your new market.

With a house-hack the name of the game is ready-to-rock.  In my opinion you want the home to be ready to move into the day you buy it (preferably with some quality tenants already in place) so that the money you put into the deal is limited.  That's one of the things that makes a house-hack such an investment multiplier: it requires little capital.

Go out there and get it, Cesar!

@Cesar Ramirez-Fajardo that really depends on the price points, availability, and your personality. Personally, I would always lean towards a 4-plex house hack over renting rooms. That being said, I'm renting two rooms out of a SFH right now, and it hasn't been bad. Just depends on what fits your situation and personality the best!

@Cesar Ramirez-Fajardo , I just moved from that area 3 years ago and there is a lot of opportunity to house hack. I concur that it is a great way to get started investing in real estate. Yes a four plex or even duplex or triplex is probably better in the long run, but they are harder to find as well. You can totally start with a SFH, I did for my first several house hacks, and rent out the rooms while you are there and then the house when you PCS. Just make sure the numbers work as if it were a rental now.