Investing in Denver

3 Replies

Hi Everybody,
New to the forum and it looks great! Just have some questions. I currently live in Florida and am looking to relocate to an area where I can do more investing in property. I am looking into the Denver metro area. From the research I have done so far it appears I can possibly invest in Denver rather than more in Florida. It seems I may be able to cash flow in the Denver area. Does anybody know or invest there that can give me some insight? I am really thinking of multi-family.
Thanks

Hi Lisa,
I'm just a newbie, but I've been looking at Denver for the last several months and I've lived here since '99. I've not looked at FL except for a conversion project in Orlando, so I can't compare. But, I've not found much that will generate positive cash flow in Denver. I've been mostly looking on the west side, Lakewood, Wheat Ridge, and Arvada. I've not found any SFR properties that are cash flow positive. Prices are level or down from a year ago, but still up a lot from 5-8 years ago. Rents have not kept up with the price appreciation. Apt vacancies were up at 12% a few years ago, but are now running under 8%. The market is slowing, and there are lots of foreclosures. So, could well be opportunities coming.

I've looked at a number of small multi-family units, 4-12 or so units. Quads on this side of town sell in the $300K-350K range and rents run $500-600/unit. Areas that have these usually have a bunch of them together along with 8 or 12 unit buildings. So, lots of rental competition. I've also looked at some on the east side of Denver, roughly Colfax and York where there's a lot of redevelopment in progress. Rent vs. price is worse, but there may (MAY!) be more potential for appreciation.