Negative ROI!?! Are my calculations off???

46 Replies

Hey Guys I am a rookie investor (Still have not purchased my first investment property.) I have had some issues calculating ROIs. I am in the Los Angeles area however I have been looking into investing in the Memphis area.These SFDs seem super affordable (150k) and under but it seems like when I find a home on the market the ROI calculations always end up upside down, becoming negative. My question is, am I simply looking in the wrong market? Or is there something im not looking into as far as having positive cash flow. I hope Im making sense in my questions.

Thank You in Advance!

Hi Spencer,

Yea, I have turnkey rentals in Memphis, which means i probably overpaid for the house and yet still get decent cashflow.  what kind of assumptions are you running?

@Spencer Gracia I recommend that you check your sources of information for your rental and cost comps. It is possible to get a negative ROI if your property costs more to maintain that your can get in rents. It may be that your method of calculating ROI is including bad information. We can't help you without the numbers.

Kevin,

Example: I ran numbers for a140k home with 20% down($28,000)

Avg. rent in that area went for $950

TOTAL Expenses including: $1051

-Mortgage $668 

-Utilities (Water/Trash) $40

-Vacancy $48

-Cap expenses/Repairs $200

-Property Managment $95

Am I way off on my numbers in regards to rent or expenses???