Financing a LLC in Minnesota

18 Replies

Hello BP community! I am just starting out my real estate investing journey and need help with recommendations for financing. My plan is to use a LLC to own a rental property. From my understanding (and please correct me if I'm wrong, I appreciate any help) I need to get a commercial loan since I'm using a LLC. Please give me any recommendations for mortgage lenders in Minnesota that could help me out with this. Thanks!

May I ask why you're going with an LLC right off the bat? We're all biased to our path to a certain extent, but I don't see how utilizing an LLC outweighs the benefits of getting into your first property with a lower interest rate, 30 year fixed mortgage, and much lower down payment. I took out a 1 million dollar umbrella policy which costs about $150/yr and probably nets out to around $100 or less when considering the small savings on my auto insurance plan that goes with it.

If you're deadset on the LLC/commercial route, I've heard good things about Bridgewater Bank and Community Resource Bank - have yet to work with either of them though.

@Derek Olmschenk welcome to BP! I would advise against buying in an llc. You can always buy in your personal name and quit claim into an llc. Could trigger the due on sale clause but extremely rare. Would love to connect and see how I can help you on your investing journey!

An LLC is a tool to use for a number of reasons. Buying your first property is not one of them! Don't believe the horror stories about liability - as mentioned before, you can insure against most of that. One single family home as a rental does not require an LLC. If you were buying something a lot larger, an LLC would be a must. Message me if you want to know more. I've been a LL for almost 20 years now. PS-my properties are in a trust but that's because of my personal situation and choices.