Buying a condo, should I pay cash?

6 Replies

Great forum. I've only stumbled upon it, but it looks like I've come to the right place. I realize my question is about as newbie as it gets, so thanks for your patience!

I have no experience whatsoever in real estate, but I recently decided I'm going to purchase a condo in the Las Vegas area for 100-200k. This will be for me to live in, but I also want to use it as a learning experience for real estate in general.

My question is, when I find the property, should I pay it all off at once? I'm fortunate enough to have the full amount in cash at the moment, and it seems like avoiding any financing would be best financially speaking, since I don't plan to buy multiple properties right off the bat.

This makes sense to me because I wouldn't be paying interest, but I just thought I'd throw it out there in case I'm missing something.

If anyone has any additional advice about where I should go from there, please let me know! I've only started looking at properties on realtor.com, and my next move was to find an agent in the area that I could talk to.

Thanks,
Joey

You don't pay interest by paying cash but you also lose the opportunity to invest those funds elsewhere and you do not get a deduction for mortgage interest. If you are planning on real estate investments you could use a HELOC or equity line on the property you live in to fund real estate purchases if you do pay cash. It is a personal decision. If it were me I would put a small amount down and finance the rest and use the rest of the money for other investments.

BTW, I'm in Las Vegas myself.

8)

That makes sense to me. The only problem is I'm not sure I'm confident enough in my investment strategy to make up for what I'd be paying in interest. I have my business, but my overhead is almost nothing and even my current projects don't require anywhere near that cash.