SFH rentals in Kalamazoo vs Grand Rapids vs Fort Wayne

8 Replies

Hi there,

I'm a complete newbie to real estate investing looking to buy the first investment property. I wanted to get your thoughts on a couple of the areas I'm currently considering investing in - Kalamazoo MI, Grand Rapids MI, and Fort Wayne IN.  

Overall, I'm looking to purchase a single family home for rent. In addition to getting your overall opinions on the 3 areas, a couple of specific questions I had are:

• Is the area "too hot" right now to the point where the rent yields are too low?
  • Is there a specific neighborhood in the area best suited for SFH investment?
  • What is the projected growth in the area like?

Are there alternative cities around the area that you'd recommend me researching into?

Thank you in advance.

Hi Gina- I just have a quick second to reply, but in terms of competitiveness of the three markets: Grand Rapids is certainly the hottest, most competitive, and finding deals is difficult if you're only using the MLS. Kalamazoo is somewhat easier and the cash flow can be decent. From what I can tell Fort Wayne (though I don't invest there) is not nearly as competitive/hot as GR or Kzoo.

Originally posted by @Gina Na:

Hi there,

I'm a complete newbie to real estate investing looking to buy the first investment property. I wanted to get your thoughts on a couple of the areas I'm currently considering investing in - Kalamazoo MI, Grand Rapids MI, and Fort Wayne IN.  

Overall, I'm looking to purchase a single family home for rent. In addition to getting your overall opinions on the 3 areas, a couple of specific questions I had are:

• Is the area "too hot" right now to the point where the rent yields are too low?
    • Is there a specific neighborhood in the area best suited for SFH investment?
    • What is the projected growth in the area like?

Are there alternative cities around the area that you'd recommend me researching into?

Thank you in advance.