How do yall feel about buying a rental property all cash?

120 Replies

How do yall feel about buying a rental property all cash? This will be my first investment and im wondering if it will be a good idea. I am fortunate enough to work a job I love that makes me a decent income. My plan is to buy a rental house all cash so I dont have to worry about mortgage payments and all the rental cash will go towards my next investment. My plan is to save income from my job and rental income to buy 1 property every year and rent them out. Is this a good strategy?

I'm still a newbie, but if I had enough cash to buy a house outright, I'd probably use it as downpayments to by a few houses with mortgages. Let the renters pay the mortgage and have multiple rentals coming in. Interest rates are low right now. 

I'm probably a minority here, judging from the posts - but I'm a believer in less greed, less leverage and more cash. All-cash can serve you well, as you'll be able to ride out any problems better than if you're leveraged up the wazoo. Your strategy is great - your job income is your biggest wealth-builder in the beginning. Next step is learning to identify good rentals, but that's for another post. Good luck!

As with most questions it depends 

if you are saving $1000 a month from your job and houses cost $500k.  Probably not a good idea 

If you can save $15k a month and houses sell for $75k could work out nicely for you

@Kiet Ho Why? Why? And...why? Would you invest in anything else that requires $200,000 upfront to get a couple hundred bucks a month and a fistful of headaches in return? If you give me $200,000 cash I will gladly and faithfully hand deliver you a couple hundred bucks a month and I'll never call you to fix a toilet seat, refrigerator, or anything ever.

Other People's Money. OPM. Always.