Getting Significant Other On Board

15 Replies

Hey Everyone, I'm a 23 year old from Ontario Canada and I'm relatively new to BP and Real Estate investing. I've been listening to the podcast for a few months and have been so inspired to start my Real Estate journey. My girlfriend (of 4 years) and I are in a good financial position for home ownership, and ideally I'd like to start with a house hack/duplex and scale up from there. I sat down with my girlfriend and told her my interest in real estate and how my goal is to invest in real estate to reach financial independence so we could both retire early if we wanted to. I tried to give her the benefits to real estate investing and how it could change our lives, but she was not convinced. She sees it as a lot of work and doesn't see how you would make that much more money than just focusing on our careers. She also sees it as risky with the extremely hot market we have here in Ontario. This is something I really want to pursue, but not sure how I'll be able to do it without having her on board, as it is a huge life decision. Any suggestions on how I should go about this situation?

Thanks!

Hi @Brett Kingston

You will need to get her on board and or at least get her to a point where she will allow you to do it. The world is flooded with horror stories surrounding real estate investing. Heck right now in Ontario the landlord and tenant board is closed lol. The hesitation is justified.

The book rich dad poor dad will allow you to answer the "why" of investing in real estate. If done properly one can retire in 5-10 years opposed to 40 years at a career. Click on my profile to see the deals I did in Ontario. I started at 23 now nearly financially free at 31. My girlfriend was never involved in the process but supported me and allowed me to do it. Now years later she can see what is possible and how it can go very well. Big commitment but definitely worth the effort.