Young Man Looking for help!

14 Replies

Hello everyone!! Honestly, I'm going to get straight to the point... I live in Bakersfield, CA and I'm looking for any advice or help from someone who has experience in Real Estate Investing. I'm a newbie to Real Estate Investing, but I been listening to the BiggerPocket Podcasts for while now, I believe its time to take the next step and take action. I really love the idea of the BRRRR concept, I think I would want to pursue that route. I'm driven, motivated, and super excited to begin!! Hope someone all can help (:

Congratulations on getting started. Kern County is one of my favorite areas to find undiscovered opportunities. The missing piece for me was developing the skills to solve problems the majority of my competition can't.  Otherwise you are just competing and grinding for crumbs in hot markets like we are in now. Best of luck!

Fernando - In the last 60 days there were 46 buildings that sold in Bakersfield that were fourplexes or larger. The average price per unit has appreciated 5.7% since January 1, 2021. The GRM is now 10.85 and the average price per unit is $102,905. Values have now recovered 98.22% from the all time high in 2007. In the current sellers market there is 5 buyers for every 1 listing that hits the market. The low interest rates with opportunities to still receive cash flow is driving the market in Bakersfield. You have the right mindset and strategy for Bakersfield. Keep in mind it is a long term endeavor. Good Luck in your efforts.

@Fernando Ferrel II BRRRR is a great way to produce wealth. A non-Bakersfield example, but the percentages are roughly the same in most regions.

Purchased a place for $50k, $25k rehab and it appraised at $110k after rehab.  Was then able to refi back out for 75% of the new value, so about $80k.  The original loan was $65k ($50k purchase + 25k rehab, less $10k downpayment).  So $15k net plus small closing costs.