Looking for my first investment deal

7 Replies

Hi BP Family!

My name is Toni, and I am a newbie to the real estate investment game that lives in Denver, Colorado. I am looking for investment properties, but Colorado is a bit pricey. I am trying to find some leads or wholesalers who could help me.... along with any other investors who could give me some helpful tips or may be willing to partner up. I am also opened to hear of any other good areas close to these that I may be overlooking that have a good return. I'm also not oppose to out of state deals either. I am excited and looking forward to hearing from you all!

Hi! Try searching facebook groups for investors in your area "Colorado real estate investors". Many wholesalers and investors post deals there. It might be a good place to start and to get an idea if you even want to invest there. Good luck on your REI journey!

@Allemreh A. Smith-Daniels Congrats on taking the first step!  I wouldn't give up entirely on deals in Denver metro. It depends on your goals. You can easily get higher overall returns here compared to other states/cities, especially with our appreciation rates the last 50 years on average. 

There are still deals that work, but you won't get necessarily the get highest cash flow due to the higher initial purchase price. If you want cash flow, you can still achieve it with 3 bed/2 bath condos out in Aurora, CO on Section 8. Or, if you don't like HOAs, another strategy that has worked for myself and other investors is renting by the the room in a large single family house in Arvada/Westminster/Northglenn/Thornton area. Both of those strategies still work today in August 2021 in Denver metro. Another strategy is buying a primary residence with a basement apartment and living upstairs and Airbnbing downstairs. That won't bring in the highest cash flow, but it would minimize your cost of living in a premium area and maybe even live for free. 

Thus, there are many strategies that work today.