Real-Estate License While Investing

11 Replies

Hello BP Family,

I am new to investing in real estate. My market will be the Houston Texas area.

I have been doing countless hours of digging through the forums, listening to podcasts, watching YouTube, and scrolling through Facebook trying to find the answer.

So my question,

Is it worth getting your real estate license here in Texas if you plan on doing the BRRRR method and fix and flip?

Also, do you have to go through the brokerage that hangs your license on every deal that you take as a personal investment? Let’s say it is an off market home you plan to pay cash for.

I have weighed the pros and cons of having it and to me it makes more sense to get a license. The only one I can’t find the answer to is the question above. I like the fact that you can do showings whenever fits your schedule, and the fact that you don’t have to wait on an agent to submit your offer for you. The cost yearly is Relatively low compared to the benefits.

Any help would be appreciated, or just your thoughts on pros and cons of having it.

Thank you,

Sam

@Sam Collins most brokerages will let you do a personal transaction as an exempt transaction, but if you make a business out of it then most likely they will want a cut of the brokerage side. 

I would think through what your goals really are. Having a license is great for access, but what a lot of novice investors miss is a good agent will provide a lot more than just the access to the house. Honestly, that is the starting point and doesn't take much skill or commitment. A good agent should give you access to their network which is built on the back of a full time business networking with other RE professionals.