Starting in a college town!

26 Replies

Hey everyone this is my first time on the forums! I am wanting to start investing in my college town of Murray, KY. Any advice on how to invest in rentals in a college town? Thank you!!

@Evan Jackson

-Find out what college rentals rent for in your area. They can usually rent for more than a typical rental. For example, maybe you can get $1000 for a 4 bedroom as a regular rental. However, maybe you can get $400 per bedroom as a student rental.

-Some landlords rent by the room. I prefer to to have one lease that everyone is on.

-The more bedrooms and bathrooms in a house, the better. If you are getting $X per bedroom, a four bedroom is better than a three.

-Find out the local college rental cycle, i.e., sign leases in May for a Aug-July lease. It can vary from area to area.

-Buy close to the school, as well as other amenities such as bars, stores, and other places college kids want to hang out.

-Check the zoning laws regarding number of unrelated people allowed to live together.

I haven’t done any in a College town personally. But rent by room is deemed pretty standard around FSU in Tallahassee as an example

At FSU they’re between $700-1,200 a room

Be prepared for damages, especially if its near bars and such

They’re usually 1 year leases

Close to all the things the students want to do like Brett G. said

@Evan Jackson My sister has properties in a two University town and often gets older students looking to be away from the campus scene. Her rentals are not near the campus. She finds that her students typically only will sign leases from August-May 31 and then she has a 2 month vacancy. Or they vacate and just abandon the security deposit and don’t pay the last two months leaving her short one months rent.

She typically doesn’t have much damage with these off campus rentals because her tenants aren’t out partying at the bars so much but losing the security deposit to one of the last two months rent sucks.